23
Feb
09

usumbura

My friend Katherine sent me this link for photos of Usumbura (the colonial name for Bujumbura) from the 1950’s:

http://membres.lycos.fr/usumbura/page1.htm

Some of the scenes in the photos are impressively similar to the city today. Many of the buildings shown still exist.

This post is maybe a stunning glimpse into Burundi’s colonial past, maybe another, less stunning, evasion on my part of considering my current surroundings.

1 Response to “usumbura”


  1. 1 Caren, former resident of Bujumbura
    February 25, 2009 at 12:43 am

    Hi Jefferson, Just wanted to leave a short message to say that I stumbled upon your blog. I’ll keep the link and hopefully we can stay in touch. I almost hate to ask….NGO registration?? Caren


Leave a Reply

