07
Dec
08

thanksgiving follow-up

november 28, 2008

I have so many leftovers, I have a second Thanksgiving (eventually a third) with my security guards, Lareunt and Dieudonné. We each have some beer and a heaping plate of rice, green curry, sweet potatos, and brussel sprouts that one of my guests brought the night before but which I didn’t have time to make.

As we’re eating, and as they’re laughing at my Kirundi, I notice they’re occasionally stabbing at one of the brussels sprouts, but not with any real conviction. I love the little guys (and they’re prety small – the brussels sprouts, please, not the guards), so I casually ask Laurent what he liked or didn’t like.

People sometimes say Burundians aren’t very direct in their opinions, but Laurent does not hesitate. “I didn’t like those,” he says, pointing at the only thing left on his plate. And Dieudonné? “No, me neither.”

But Dieudonné catches himself. It’s not that he didn’t like them, he explains, but it’s his first time eating them, and when Burundians eat something for the first time, they only eat a little. Why is that, I ask. Dieudonné thinks for a second: we only eat a little because when it’s something new we don’t know what is going to happen next.

Fantastic.

3 Responses to “thanksgiving follow-up”


  1. 1 Marie
    December 8, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Ils ont raison!

  2. December 23, 2008 at 2:02 am

    haha! i like that line of thinking.

  3. January 18, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    You have a Zairois driving license?! So jealous! I guess that’s what I get for having my license issued in Kinshasa.


Leave a Reply

